Who we are

About Us

The European Business Aviation Association (EBAA) is the leading organisation for operators of business aircraft in Europe. Our Members enable companies and professionals to have more efficient and productive business travel.

Meet the Team
Mission

To enable responsible, sustainable growth for business aviation, enhancing connectivity and creating opportunities

What we do

Representing members

EBAA works to improve safety standards and share knowledge, to further positive regulation, and to ease all aspects of closely tailored, flexible, point to point air transportation for individuals, governments, businesses and local communities in the most time-efficient way possible. Founded in 1977 and based in Brussels, Belgium EBAA represents more than 715 member companies, corporate operators, commercial operators, manufacturers, airports, fixed-base operators, and more, with a total fleet of more than 1,000 aircraft. The association provides more than 50 products and services to the business aviation community, including the European Business Aviation Convention & Exhibition (EBACE), Europe’s largest business aviation trade show.
Back of a plane Engine's plan

The history of EBAA

1977
The beginning

How it started

Dr. Ir. F.J. Philips and François Chavatte of IBM Europe co-founded the “International Business Aviation Association (Europe)”, in the Netherlands with 12 founding members. François Chavatte is elected as its first President, holding this post until 2003. He was also Chairman from 1986-1996.

1984
To Brussels

The place to be

Recognising that Brussels was the strategic place to be, the Association moved to Belgium and became known as the European Business Aviation Association (EBAA).

1996
Evolution

Leadership

Brian Humphries joins EBAA as Chairman, holding this post until 2004. Following his retirement from Shell Aircraft International in 2005 he became CEO of EBAA, and in 2009 assumed the dual role of President and CEO.

2000
EBACE

A premier event

The first European Business Aviation Convention & Exhibition (EBACE) takes place in Geneva. This event becomes the annual meeting place for the European business aviation community.

2011
Evolution

Leadership

Fabio Gamba is appointed Chief Executive Officer of EBAA, taking over from Brian Humphries who remained in the role of EBAA President.

2017
Anniversary

40 years of EBAA

EBAA celebrates 40 years of operations with 685 members, representing a fleet of over 1000 aircraft! In the same year, Brian Humphries retires from the role of EBAA President and becomes an Honorary Member, along with François Chavatte.

2018
Shifting Perceptions

Expanding Horizons

Expanding Horizons is the EBAA's 5-year campaign to share facts, stories, and insights to help ensure Business Aviation is recognized by key stakeholders as being a pioneering, accessible, indispensable and desirable transport option.

Our industry

Business Aviation (BizAv)

Business aviation (BizAv) provides closely tailored, flexible, point to point air transportation for individuals, governments, businesses and local communities in the most time-efficient way possible.

BizAv generally refers to an on-demand industry that consists of a mixture of commercial and non-commercial services that encompasses everything from charter to corporate and emergency medical flights. The sector is not defined by the size or type of the aircraft, but rather by the nature of the service provided.

Business aviation brings value to European companies, citizens and communities both as a specialised, secure, time-efficient mode of travel and as a dynamic sector providing highly-skilled jobs.

Our Team

Staff & Experts

Picture of Athar Husain Khan
Athar Husain Khan Secretary-General
Picture of Robert  Baltus
Robert Baltus Chief Operations Officer rbaltus@ebaa.org
Picture of Shay Ben-Shaool
Shay Ben-Shaool Chief Financial Officer sbenshaool@ebaa.org
Picture of Christine Mairesse
Christine Mairesse Senior Manager, Human Resources and Administration cmairesse@ebaa.org
Picture of Bruce Parry
Bruce Parry Senior Manager, Environment bparry@ebaa.org
Picture of Belarmino Goncalves Paradela
Belarmino Goncalves Paradela Senior Manager, Economics and Operational Activities bgparadela@ebaa.org
Picture of Vanessa Rullier-Francaud
Vanessa Rullier-Francaud Senior Manager, ATM vrullier@ebaa.org
Picture of Johan Glantz
Johan Glantz Senior Manager, Safety & Regulatory Affairs jglantz@ebaa.org
Picture of Corina Stiubei
Corina Stiubei Manager, Safety, Data Analysis and Performance Review cstiubei@ebaa.org
Picture of David Grivet
David Grivet Manager, European Affairs dgrivet@ebaa.org
Picture of Arthur Thomas
Arthur Thomas Manager, Market & Business Intelligence athomas@ebaa.org
Picture of Frederique Luca
Frederique Luca Senior Manager, Communications fluca@ebaa.org +32 479 66 08 13
Picture of Róman Kok
Róman Kok Manager, Communications rkok@ebaa.org
Picture of Rachel Clementi
Rachel Clementi Senior Manager, Convention and Events rclementi@ebaa.org
Picture of Paul Walsh
Paul Walsh Senior Manager, Member Services pwalsh@ebaa.org
Picture of Flora  Stavropoulou
Flora Stavropoulou Membership Officer fstavropoulou@ebaa.org
Picture of John  Yeeles
John Yeeles Membership Officer & AMAC Point of Contact jyeeles@ebaa.org
Picture of Justine Biren
Justine Biren Manager, Convention and Events jbiren@ebaa.org +32 2 318 28 07

Board of governors

Chairman
Picture of Juergen Wiese
Juergen Wiese BMW AG - EBAA Chairman of the Board of Governors
Board members
Picture of Maxime Bouchard
Maxime Bouchard JetFly Aviation SA - EBAA Treasurer Luxembourg
Picture of Stanley Bugeja
Stanley Bugeja DC Aviation Malta Malta
Picture of Tony Cramp
Tony Cramp Shell Aircraft Limited Netherlands
Picture of Bertrand D'Yvoire
Bertrand D'Yvoire Dassault Falcon Service France
Picture of Dannys Famin
Dannys Famin Fobyc SAS France
Picture of Marwan Khalek
Marwan Khalek GAMA Aviation Ltd. United Kingdom
Picture of Hervé Laitat
Hervé Laitat LuxAviation Belgium Belgium
Picture of Hélène Niedhart
Hélène Niedhart CAT Aviation Switzerland
Picture of Graham Williamson
Graham Williamson Sonas Aviation Ireland
Picture of Paolo Sommariva
Paolo Sommariva FL3XX - EBAA Chair of AMAC Austria
Picture of Johan  Van Lokeren
Johan Van Lokeren Flyinggroup Belgium